HARDBALL & HARDSHIP by Mark “Frog” Carfagno

I’ve just completed writing a book titled “HARDBALL & HARDSHIP”. It’s about my life growing up as a young child in Southwest Philadelphia and later about working in baseball for the Philadelphia Phillies for 33 years.

You will find many behind the scenes stories from my 33 years working as a groundskeeper at Veterans Stadium and a few that are quite comical.

I don’t just stop there. Look also for my strong opinions on these topics: Sports Talk Radio, Sports Announcers, Instant Replay and a look at one of Philadelphia’s greatest traditions, the Mummers.

For more details check out this site in the near future.

Thanks.

Frog

19 Responses to HARDBALL & HARDSHIP by Mark “Frog” Carfagno

  1. ND Harvey says:

    Frog,
    I am looking forward to the release of your new book,
    “Hardball and Hardship”, it should be a great sell. A couple of years ago I sat with you in a Cancun bar and you told story after story, those 3 hours I totally enjoyed and
    will never forget. Good luck with the publication and I am
    looking forward to reading it…..Go IRISH!!!!

    Bob “ND Harvey” Sumner

  2. mike rawlings says:

    Froggie,
    Many I have met complain that they are waiting for their “ship to come in”, and it seems to me, that they have never sent one out in the first place. This book has been a long time coming and hopefully with the release of “HARDSHIP & HARDBALL” your ship finally comes in.
    Those of us who truly coach, believe that sport produces character. It also produces great CHARACTERS. You fit both categories. It has been a blessing to sit with you in desperate times and a ball to be with you during “party” times. Joe McFadden would be proud.

    Mike Rawlings Sr.
    University of Pennsylvania
    Sprint Football Staff

  3. Joejr says:

    Put it out there, Frog. Ones life story as unique as yours should be shared. A young mans world and life changed by parental loss. Some 30 odd years closely affiliated with MLB team and its players. A cast of friends and family that help build character. You have something to say… Looking forward to the book release and can’t wait for the movie.

    The Hardship overcame and the Hardball taken deep.

  4. Chris Edwards says:

    Frog Man:
    Looking forward to the book. Get yourself a Twitter account so you can publicize it for free. Next time I see you at the Philadium, I’m buying.
    Miss you, man.

    Chris Edwards
    once upon a time a beat writer covering the Phillies

  5. Brian E. Breslin says:

    Mark, I remember well the day Angelo Carfagno was buried from MBS. I recall clearly watching your Dad’s casket being carried down the steps of the Church as we watched from Sister Fenton Marie’s music room in the Pius Building. We were 5th grade classmates of yours and we were all so silent as we watched the procession down those steps. You were an inspiration to all of us because when you came back to school after all was said and done, you cheered us up with your being the frog man that you were. You were one of a kind, and a great guy to be around. I was at the Prep when you were at West Catholic, but ironically, I ended up teaching Biology at West and falling in love with the joint. I was there the year Mike Brooks led the team to 14-0 regular season. Be good. Bres

  6. BILL HAINES says:

    FROG,

    ONLY YOU COULD WRITE SUCH A BOOK. LOOKING FORWARD TO THE DICK ALLEN STORIES, TIMMY, DINGLES AND THE BOYS AND OF COURSE I HOPE THERE ARE SOME OF THE CLASSIC CATHERINE SCHOOLYARD GAMES ,LOOP VS. TUCKERS.

    BABS

  7. Dan Quinn says:

    Frog,

    Look forward to reading the book and I hope every beach blanket at the Jersey Shore has a copy on it.

    Good luck!

    Dan

  8. EdB says:

    Frog, can’t wait to read the book. Still have fond memories of all the phillie’s games we took in together at Connie Mack, riding the Broad Street subway and only getting mugged once, and of course hangin around at Myers. Hope you and the family are doing well. Funny, I was just talking about you last week with the Phanatic and then I see the mention of your book today. Hope it sells a million copies.

    EdB

  9. BRIAN MC DONALD says:

    CAN’T WAIT TO READ IT BUDDY WHEN GOOD PEOPLE LIKE YOURSELF ARE BULLIED BY MEAN SPIRITED KNOW-IT-ALLS IT MAKES EVERYONE’S BLOOD BOIL FOR A LONG TIME FAN & EMPLOYEE OF THE TEAM TO BE TREATED THE WAY YOU WERE, IT SPEAKS VOLUMES ABOUT THE ORGANIZATION I WELCOME YOU TO JOIN YOUR SISTER & ROOT FOR THE EMPIRE ! COME ON DOWN THE SHORE WITH HER
    MARY ANNE & I WOULD LOVE TO SEE YOU & CASS !
    GOOD LUCK & GOD BLESS ALL THE CARFAGNOS !

  10. cChuck McNamara says:

    Frog, simply stated the book is great! I fondly recall your memories of Southwest Philly and the Cahill’s NYB. The memories of your parents was very touching and a wonderful tribute to them both. It was great seeing you on Sunday at Coaches for the book singing and thanks for getting me up to sing.
    Thanks for the cherished memories.

    Chuck

  11. SteveToler says:

    Hey Froggie,

    Good luck on the book, its sounds great. I know how you feel, I got let go March 13,2008,on the phone,after 22yrs throwing BP.(with no explanation) Hoping to catch up with you at one of your book signing. Stay well and good luck with the book.

    Steve

  12. AL says:

    YO FROG
    I HOPE YOUR BOOK GOES WELL FOR YOU.
    I REMEMBER THE OLD CAHILL DAYS AND GET UPSET EVERYTIME I PASS BY THE OLD BUILDING ON 67TH & ELMWOOD.
    IT’S A SHAME THAT THE CLUB WENT FANCY AND WILL NEVER BE THE GIANT IT ONCE WAS AS THE BEST OF THE COMIC DIVISION.
    GOOD LUCK FROG.

  13. FRAN SESSA says:

    Yo Frog
    It was great to see you and Cass at Coaches in April (I was visiting from Tampa)I’m sorry I missed all your book signing’s.I know your having lot’s of FUN at all your book signing’s and seening so many old face’s,hope you sell millions of book’s, I’ll be getting my copy through your web site.

    PS. HOPEFULLY YOU WILL SIGN IT! LOL “GO NOTER DAME”

    BEST OF LUCK
    FRAN SESSA

  14. Ralph Oliva says:

    Yo Frog,
    My son just ordered the book for my birthday present. Looking forward to reading it. Take care and GO BURRS.

  15. Jake- Patsy's Grandson says:

    Hey frog I’ve heard a-lot about you from my grand-mom Patsy Mullen. I’m a sports fanatic just as you are. My grand-mom hates how I watch Sport Center all day long. I also can’t believe how you knew the Phillies players like Pete Rose and, more. I hope to meat you one day and annoy my grand-mom by talking about sports. Plus I look forward to reading your book.
    P.S. Say hi to Spider and Terry for me.

    • frog says:

      Jake, Great hearing from you. I’m jealous because when I was a kid there was no Sports Center to watch. Tell you grandmom that I said that Sports will keep you out of trouble. Stay involved and throughout your lifetime you will come across some wonderful people. Yes, I will say hello to Terry and Spider. Hope to meet you soon. Thanks Frog…. Enjoy the book.

  16. Dave Morris says:

    Frog,
    I just finished reading Hardball & Hardship…..I laughed and I cried but mostly I remembered….Thanks for bringing back the memories both good and bad….Good luck to you and God bless.
    All the best,
    Dave Morris

  17. frog says:

    Dave, thanks for reading the book. I sure hope the good surpassed the bad. Sincerely Frog

  18. Jack Myers says:

    Frog,

    Joe Ferry told me about your book. Best wishes, and I hope this is the first of several successful books for you. Can’t wait to read HARDBALL and HARDSHIP!

    Jack Myers
    ROW HOUSE DAYS, ROW HOUSE BLUES, and THE DELCO FILES
    MBS graduate (56th & Litchfield), West Catholic ’68-’70
    former player for The Lancers at 49th St./Kingsessing
    former teammate of Steve Toler on the Springfield Corsairs
    former Norwood 507 Legion pitcher and Senior EDCO all-star

Leave a comment